10 Strong Years

INT. GABE’S CAR – EARLY EVENING

GABE is driving home from work and picks up his phone to call VEGA. Vega answers.

GABE

Vega… hey man, what’s up?

VEGA

What’s up bro? Just chillin…

…Looking to get inspired. I feel like I want to record again.

GABE

Wow, well I guess I called at the right time then…

VEGA

Oh yeah…

GABE

Too weird…

             I was calling because I need a favor. Mine and Lindsay’s 10th anniversary of dating and 3rd wedding anniversary is coming up and I want to do something special…

VEGA

Wow, yeah man what can I do?

GABE

I want to write a song and you record it…

VEGA

Lets do it…

GABE

…Cool, how do we start?

How about I just give you a run down of important pieces in our relationship and you do your magic…

VEGA

Sounds good…

GABE

…You ready?

VEGA

Shoot…

GABE

As you know we are “high school sweethearts”…

The first time I saw her, she was wearing a grey dress…

Our “official date” of our relationship is eleven, eleven, nineteen ninety-eight…

We got married on our seven year anniversary…

People always tell her she looks like Reese Witherspoon…

…You getting this?

VEGA

Yeah man, keep going…

GABE

Alright… she is pregnant which she calls him “love nugget” right now…

We love to travel and as you know particularly to LA…

We are both Gemini’s…

Our song is Shawn Mullins’ “Rockabye” which doesn’t really make a lot of sense, but it is…

VEGA

Ha ha…

GABE

You know she is beautiful…

…I know we will be together for the rest of our lives, so this is just the beginning…

We have no idea what God has in store for us, but we will be there together…

…Is that enough?

VEGA

You tell me man…

I think this is good…

GABE

…And you know us, so feel free to expand.

VEGA

…Cool.

GABE

So how does this work?

Are you just going to get some stuff down and then we can talk?

VEGA

…Absolutely

I am feeling it, so let me get to it and we can chat after…

GABE

That works dude…

Thanks man, I really appreciate it…

VEGA

No problem, this will be fun…

GABE

Alright dude, I will let you get to it…

VEGA

Later…

GABE

Later.

NOVEMBER 11TH, 2008

INT. GABE & LINDSAY’S CAR – EVENING

Gabe and LINDSAY are their way to dinner to celebrate their anniversary.

GABE

I’m excited about Del Frisco’s…

LINDSAY

Me too…

GABE

I bet you are, baby Brody is going to get his first taste of good steak…

As Lindsay is putting on her make-up, Gabe puts in a CD.

GABE

Listen closely, this is your anniversary card…

LINDSAY

What do you mean?

GABE

Just listen, it will make sense in about 3 minutes…

The music is playing and Lindsay listens closely as Gabe watches her the best he can while driving.

LINDSAY

I am so confused…

Gabe smiles.

Lindsay’s eyes begin to tear up as she continues to listen to music playing.

LINDSAY

What is this?

GABE

I thought this was a good way for me to tell you how I love you.

Lindsay begins to wipe away her emotional and heartfelt tears.

LINDSAY

Who is this singing?

GABE

I called in a favor to Vega…

LINDSAY

Oh my gosh…

GABE

Do you like it?

LINDSAY

I love it…

GABE

I love you…

Lindsay leans over from her seat and kisses Gabe’s cheek.

LINDSAY

I love you too…

You’re the best.

10 Strong Years

Lindsay’s Perspective

One response to “10 Strong Years

  • L.Sanchez

    Hi Gabe,
    I went to mass today, they spoke about sharing Wisdom. So,I need to tell you that the next time you pray ask God to let Lindsey hear you. You see my Grandmother was my best friend and we shared a very strong connection. Since I was fifteen when she passed away I started doing this and I noticed that the answer or the topic that I had spoken to my grandmother about would somehow surface in a none direct way. All it takes to see them again is a dream, a smile from a stranger, or just a simple sign that only you would understand because it’s meant for you.
    I have dreamt of my grandma after having each of my two kids. In my dream she has seen them and commented on them. I also know that God’s biggest gift to us human beings is” LOVE “that feeling in its self is irreplaceable. Love is a gift that connects souls and helps heal the biggest of wounds, the love to a child, a wife, a friend, a family member or even a pet. Tell Cash and Brody to “talk to mom”. She would love that and God lets her listen, I know this to be true. You, Lindsay and the kids are always in Vega’s and my prayers. We love you guys and when you talk to Lindsay let her know I say” Thank you”!!! “I owe her one”. 😉

Leave a Reply

