Love Notes

I came across a note last night that I had written Lindsay about 12 years ago when we were in High School. There is one sentence that has stuck with me since reading it…

“God is my path, and you are my strength.”

I couldn’t have been farther from the truth or could I?

1 Corinthians 13:2-3

If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

1 John 4:11-12

Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.

Reflecting on mine and Lindsay’s love story I see God in all of it. At the most simple level, he is there. At the most complex level he is there.

I use to say… “why are you so adorable?” and she would reply with “that’s the way God made me” and have the sweetest little smile on her face. She was adorable, she was an angel on Earth. But, I see something else when I see her. I see God and how beautiful HE is.

When I told her “God is my path and you are my strength”, I was really saying… “God is my path and HE is my strength”.

I like to think that every time Lindsay and I showed our love for each other we were showing God how much we love him. His gift to us is that we got to enjoy that love with the other. We are not deserving, but I am thankful.

Gabe

3 responses to “Love Notes

  • NC

    Gabe, I only know you through your blog and want to thank you for sharing your life with us. Your love story has touched me deep within. I read your blog and share your stories with others because you have reminded me of things we don’t necessarily think of day to day. My family and I read your blog together and have had long talks about how short life is (here on earth) and how blessed we are for each day together (here on earth). THIS life IS short and one day when your entire family is together again, you will look back on this life and smile, your hearts will be healed and your hands will be filled with each other’s hands. We pray for you and your family daily and truly thank you for sharing your heart and your story with us. You’re amazing an amazing son of God, husband and father, I think your blog should be published because it is truly inspirational.

  • Haylee

    Gabe – this a great post and very well explained. My husband and I have often discussed this very topic but I don’t know that we ever outlined it quite the way you just did. Good words. Please know that we are praying for you so that you have the strength to continue sharing God’s love with the world – such amazing purpose you are bringing to your wife’s years on earth.

  • Iris B. Cowl

    Gabe ~ you don’t know me. I live in Newport News, Virginia. Your mother-in-law, Darcy and Lindsay’s dad, Greg lived in the apartment next door to my husband and I back in 1977. It was Darcy’s first year teaching. They were the nicest neighbors we had ever had. We completely lost track of each other when they moved to Texas, and Darcy and I just connected on FB, not too many months ago. She quickly told me, with such pride, about her family. Her husband Ron, her daughter Devon, her daughter Lindsay and son-in-law Gabe and her beautiful grandchildren. Never, could I have guessed that such tragedy would strike this beautiful family, in a short time.

    Gabe, your ability to share yours and Lindsay’s life together is so incredibly inspirational. You are a man of great strength! I have been married for almost 36 years and I am drawing so much from your stories. I shared them with a friend of mine who lost her husband of 43 years, very unexpectedly…..it will be three months tomorrow. I pray that she is finding strength and encouragement in these stories.

    Thank you for sharing your stories. I hope that you will continue writing. It is such a ‘gift’. I look forward to coming on here, and reading about you and Lindsay and the love you share. You are touching many lives, and in turn, I pray that you are finding peace and comfort and great strength.

    Your boys are so precious. How blessed they are to have a father like you, as a role model. God Bless you Gabe, and all of your sweet family.

    Best,
    Iris Cowl

Leave a Reply

