You Tell Me…

What’s your story?

Gabe

14 responses to “You Tell Me…

  • Joy

    I don’t know how I found your blog, but somehow I stumbled upon it. It isn’t the same situation, but my mom was diagnosed with, treated for and died of a stage IV glioblastoma (brain tumor) in four months. Like I said earlier, not the same type of loss, but a loss none-the-less.

  • Jennifer

    A friend sent one of your blog posts to me, and from the first moment I read it I was hooked. I have been married to the love of my life for almost 17 years, and we have three kids. I am in school to be a marriage counselor, and reading the story of your love has been so inspiring. So many people never experience the kind of relationship you have experienced. I have prayed for you and your boys many times in the last few months. Thank you for sharing your journey in such a beautiful and honest way. Jennifer

    • Gabe

      Thank you for sharing Jennifer, it is a great thing to experience the kind of love that only God can provide. It’s his love that gives love to all of us. Cherish your family!

      Gabe

  • Allison

    I’m the crazy lady from Stonebriar who talked to you out of the blue today. 🙂 I’m good friends with Brooke L., and I was at Cottonwood Creek helping organize and serve food after Lindsay’s service. It amazes me that this “friend of a friend”–your beautiful wife, whom I never had the privilege of meeting, has touched my heart and challenged me to be more loving and more patient. Thank you for sharing about Lindsay.

  • Razan

    I am a woman who is trying to become closer to God in any way that I can. I believe that God lives within us, and through others and ourselves, we can grow closer to Him and understand Him on a deeper level. I ran across your blog one day not realizing how much I needed your inspirational message. But after the first entry I could not stop reading. I look forward to what you have to offer, and I feel blessed to have found this gateway into the workings of our amazing God. Your words and thoughts are not only an inspiration, but a map. We all may live differing lives with various goals, but in the end, we are all connected by the one thing that brought us to and will take us away from this place we call “home”….God.

    • Gabe

      Thank you for reading. I have to tell you where these words are coming from.

      When I sit down and it is always different times (work, home, on my phone), I literally have no idea what is about to come out. I do pray for clarity, wisdom, and understanding, but these are not my words. My fingers move, but the words come from the Spirit. I believe that with all of my heart and any one who is close to me knows this to be true. So when you read these words, you should know that God is talking to you through me. For whatever reason, he has given me the gift of being his tool in this world. I don’t know how long it will last, but as long as he wants to use me, I will be here.

      I don’t read the words written until I go to Lindsay’s grave site. I sit there and read it to her. It is always like I am reading it for the first time and it is a very emotional experience for me because I know it is not me.

      Please continue to seek him. He will provide and give you a life you can never imagine.

      Gabe

      • Razan

        Reading your response is very eye-opening. I believe what you said, and it feels amazing to know that God is working through you to provide His word, and that we are given the blessing of having access to it through you. Thank you and God Bless.

  • Paula

    I am a cousin of Debra McIntire Jones. She posted about your story on facebook and I decided to read. You see, my daughter is 30 years old and has stage IV melanoma. It has been an on going battle for 2 years now. I have struggled with anger, depression, denial and most of all sadness. I finally asked my support team of wonderful Christian girls to pray for 2 specific things. Peace and strength. I want God to provide through me what she needs. God is the only person to reveal that to me at the perfect time for her. I love what your blog says about love. Everything reveals love.

    She and I have also begun to look at people, actions and life differently. I love everyone but have very little room in our blessed day for the drama. I pray that we can touch everyone in a way that we have been touched by this ugly disease.

    God Bless you and your boys Gabe. How lucky they are to have a Godly man as a father to guide, love and teach them all about their wonderful mother. This is our temporary home and what joy in know you will be joined again with her in our permanent home.

    • Gabe

      Thank you for sharing Paula, and I am very sorry to hear about your daughter. Keep your faith and stay close to God. If it is his will you will see your daughter heal here on Earth. God healed Lindsay, but I had to accept it would not be here on Earth.

      I will pray for your daughter and I know anyone who reads this will do the same.

      Gabe

  • Meri

    Your story and love for your wife is just amazing.
    I lost my beloved grandfather in September (on my mom’s birthday, to be exact). He had suffered through heart problems, type II diabetes and cancer. So many times we thought we were going to lose him but he fought. The last time he went into the hospital (the day before he passed), the doctor told us he wouldn’t make it through the night. All he did was sleep that day, little response. I went home after a few hours, returning later to see him sitting up and eating! It was a complete turn around. I hugged him, we exchanged “I Love Yous” and when I told him I’d be back the next day, he said “I’ll be here waiting”. Those were the last words he said to me. At the time, they meant he would be in the hospital waiting. Now I know that they mean he is waiting in Heaven for me. I am thankful for those words. Watching someone suffer is hard but it makes our hearts open more. “Without suffering, there would be no compassion”.

  • Laura

    Hello Gabe,
    I was told about your blog from a friend and since I’ve started reading it I cant stop. When I was 14 there was a shooting at my church and I lost a very close friend. Through that experience I learned so much about God and his love for us. However, since then I have struggled with the fear of losing loved ones tragically. Some days I feel like it consumes me. I have been married 3 1/2 years now and the way you describe your wife reminds me much of how I feel about my husband. He is a police officer and is constantly in harms way and I have started to let go of that fear little by little. If I spend my life worried and scared that I might lose him, he might as well be already gone. I’ve learned that worrying about it wont change it. All it does is take away from the joy of having him here now. Your blog has shed new light on this for me. I will hold on to every moment I have and be thankful to the One who holds our future in His hands. However long it maybe. I appreciate you so much for sharing your experience. My uncle said once, “Your joys are multiplied when you share them with others just as your burdens are lightened when you share them with others”. He was so right.

    • Gabe

      Hi Laura, thanks for reading. I am sorry to hear about the shooting at your church, I can not wrap my head around the anger that must be in someone when they bring themselves to do that. I am sorry you lost a friend in that incident. Fear is the hardest thing to deal with. Fear of the unknown, but in reality when you let go and give your entire life to God, all you have is unknowns. Don’t give into fear, all is good from the Lord. He does not wrong. Enjoy your husband and love him because that is what God wants, he is your gift! Every day you have with him is a gift. Enjoy it!

      Gabe

Leave a Reply

