Past, Present, and Future

I met my wife in 1998 with the hope of a future. It was like we could see everything ahead of us. What we saw was all the good things…

A love.

A wedding.

A child.

A home.

A life together.

We were not looking at…

The heartache.

The troubles.

The bend but don’t break moments.

Never did we imagine this is how our future would look.

In the past, we lived and appreciated the present, and looked to the future with hopeful eyes and hopeful hearts.

Now that “we” is “I”.

Yesterday is my past.

Today is my present.

Tomorrow is my future.

I don’t know when or where the heartache will come.

I don’t know when or where the troubles will come.

I don’t know where the bend but don’t break moments will come.

One thing I do know is…

I still look at that future with hopeful eyes and a hopeful heart.

Gabe

9 responses to “Past, Present, and Future

  • Casey Hearne

    I wish I had the perfect words to say to you, Gabe.. But there are no perfect words. What I CAN say is that you being positive and pushing your way through is the only option you have.. Keep your faith and believe.
    God Bless and
    ~One Love

  • Mom

    You are an amazing son and I learn something from you everyday – from day one I knew you were an old soul and so many times you have guided our family through trials and heartache – I wish I could fix the heartache for you, I can not, but it is so breathtaking watching you work through this pain while walking with God. You are so very blessed and I know you agonize over always doing the right thing – who are we to judge – we can not possibly imagine what it is like walking in your shoes right now. Your life has always been acceleratored and it seems you move through it all gracefully, and with such heart. I have faith in you that you along with your boys will grow and thrive from this experience. Don’t slow down for one minute – it is not you or your style. I love you and I so miss the lovely lady you chose for your partner for a while. Compared to most of us, you two lived a lifetime in such a short while. Although Lindsay Lou’s job was done and it was time for her to move on from this old world, yours is not. I look forward to all of your future chapters which I know from experience
    are just around the corner. Mom

    • Razan

      I have not had the pleasure of knowing your son, but from what I have read and seen, he is a thoughtful, loving, and amazing man, and it is obvious now where it stems from. Mothers like you are rare to find, but also are a blessing to others because you show us how to be supportive, loving and faithful, and how to raise our future sons in a healthy and strong-willed way. God Bless you, your family and those beautiful babies 🙂

  • Razan

    We all live a life that was pre-planned for us, and this is a journey that only you can take. You are so lucky to have had an amazing woman to walk beside you for a while during your journey, and hopefully those memories and that love will help you get through the rest of your journey. I am myself in a relationship where we are looking to the future together, a family and a long-lasting life, but we never really know what God has set out for us, and having your journey as a guide, I am able to accept the future for what it may be, but also enjoy, completely and fully enjoy, the present because that is all we can reminisce on down the line. Thank you again, Gabe. You are wonderful.

  • Ranae Pettijohn

    I love your optimism. Hang in there and know that we love you!

  • Ivy

    Gabe – I do not know you or your family but I am a friend of a friend and heard about all that you are going through. I am so sorry for your loss and I am so blessed to have read your blog. Know that it is helping people in so many ways (including me). I love the quote “Learn From Yesterday, Live For Today, Hope For Tomorrow.” Albert Einstein Your attitude seems to embrace that and what a wonderful choice that is!

    • Gabe

      Thank you for your kind words. I have a lot of people asking “why?” in reference to my wife’s passing and I like to think her one beautiful life is affecting 100’s of others. In this “eternal life” that is a great thing. Albert Einstein seems like he was a pretty smart guy. 🙂

  • Regina

    Gabe,
    I just want to say how sorry I was to hear about Lindsay. She was always so sweet and you guys were such a great couple. I used to read your family blog often and I now read this one often. You are such a great writer and you convey your emotions so clearly. While I cannot even comprehend the heart ache you have gone through, I hope writing these posts is helping with it, because the posts help me. It really makes me change my perspective and realize what really matters. Thank you for that. My deepest sympathies for you and your precious boys.

    Regina (Warren) Hamilton

    • Gabe

      Thanks Regina, I really don’t feel a sense of therapy when writing these, because I know these words are not coming from me. I always read them at Lindsay’s grave and it is always like I am reading it for the first time. However, I do feel a sense of joy when I receive messages from strangers or friends like you describing how the words have helped them. I truly believe the spirit is at work here and that is where I find my joy. I have realized over the last few months that this blog is not for me at all and very much about bringing people closer to God and truly understanding what this life is about. Good to hear from you! Gabe.

Leave a Reply

