With Me

Lindsay,

Just a week after you left, Cash took his first “real” steps.

Just a month after you left, we celebrated Cash’s first birthday.

Just two months after you left, we celebrated Thanksgiving.

Just three months after you left, we celebrated Christmas.

Everyday I wake up in our house filled with memories of you. I get in the car filled with memories of you. I back out of the driveway filled with memories of you. I drive the streets filled with memories of you. I drop the kids at the daycare filled with memories of you. I walk into the office filled with memories of you. I eat at the restaurants filled with memories of you. I return to the home filled with memories of you and as I tuck the boys in at night and crawl into bed, I do it alone. I do it alone again and again and again.

Well one day the boys will walk into school for the first time.

They will pull out of the driveway.

They will walk across the stage with diploma in hand.

They will walk out of their home for the last time and for the rest of their lives.

They will wait at the end of the aisle for their bride.

They will bring home their babies.

Through all of this… you’re coming with me.

Gabe

6 responses to “With Me

  • Joelle Bolline

    The fact that you find strength and comfort in sharing your feelings for all to see gives me hope that I too will find that strength someday. Though my loss was not like yours, it was still great & very painful. Something that changed the course of my life. I find your “love notes” very comforting. Who knew a stranger’s words would help me find my own. Thank you.

  • Beckah

    You are incredibly brave and such an inspiration to me. Your family is beautiful. I appreciate your honesty and can’t think of a better way to honor the life of your wife. Thank you for continuing to share so much.

  • laurenaves

    We are praying for you and your boys. Thank you for the clarity your words provide. This blog will touch so many people. It is amazing, the spirit you have. It is obvious that God is shining down on you and is filling your heart with His words. Thank you again for writing about your life and your faith and for sharing it with all of us who do not even know you. It has truly touched me and I’m sure countless others.

  • Allison Gilmore

    Thinking and praying for you today, just like everyday. I don’t know why, but this post moved me. Life is so short and before we blink twice our babies will be grown and moving on with their new families. I know wherever your life takes you and the boys, Lindsay will be right there and I know she will be so proud.

  • Razan

    I can only imagine the feelings that squeeze your heart on a daily basis, but I hope that you are doing well and that your memories and your love for Lindsay remain strong and aid you in your journey.

  • Meg

    Absolutely beautiful post. Saddens my momma heart but it is also dripping with beauty and hope. Be blessed~

Leave a Reply

